While LAY’S Baked original flavor may be vegan-friendly, not all flavors are created equal – and that includes both barbecue and the sour cream and onion. The sour cream variety probably doesn’t come as a surprise, but we’ve been tricked before such as learning that Oreo cookies are actually vegan (via Fresh n Lean). The sour cream flavor lives up to its name however with added ingredients including cultured skim milk, whey, and sour cream (cultured cream, skim milk).
In a sneakier surprise, the barbecue flavor isn’t vegan-friendly either.
The grill-friendly flavor contains what is likely a small amount of dairy listing in the middle of the ingredient breakdown “Natural Flavors (Contains Milk).” Those with sensitivities may also want to know that this variety contains soy in the form of soybean oil, which is a commonly avoided food.
So, while the original LAY’S Baked may be a great “healthy junk food” for most, check closely for each additional flavor if you have food intolerances, allergies, or follow a specific dietary plan such as plant-based eating.