So what makes this version of Coca-Cola acceptable for Passover, exactly? For context, according to an Insider report, during the holiday, Jews must not eat things like barley, rye, oats, wheat, or spelt (all classified as leavened foods). About three-quarters of Jews have Ashkenazi heritage, so they have additional restrictions. They must refrain from consuming legumes and grains like corn (per Healthline, corn kernels are considered a whole grain). That becomes a problem due to the high fructose corn syrup normally used to make Coke.
The publication says the Passover-friendly version of Coca-Cola was released to the public in 1935 thanks to Rabbi Tuvia Geffen who worked alongside the company to release a version of the soda that Jews would be able to enjoy during Passover. It is based on Coca-Cola’s original recipe, which relied on cane sugar instead of high-fructose corn syrup. To signify that the soda has received certification from the Orthodox Union, the caps are marked with “O-U-P.” So, if it’s made with cane sugar, what does it taste like? According to The Kitchn, Coca-Cola’s Kosher soda can be likened to the very popular Mexican Coca-Cola.