One great alternative is tamari. Tamari is a Japanese-style soy sauce that is traditionally made from fermented miso paste, instead of wheat. The taste is slightly different: The Kitchn describes tamari as “more balanced and less salty” than soy sauce. If you’re on a strict gluten-free diet, always check the label to make sure it truly is gluten-free, as some tamari can be made with a tiny bit of wheat.
Bragg Liquid Aminos is another alternative, and one that is completely gluten-free. Made from non-GMO soybeans and purified water, it has a taste “similar to soy sauce but much milder and with a tiny bit of sweetness to it” (via The Spruce Eats). It also offers a large number of essential and non-essential amino acids.
For a non-soy alternative, look for coconut aminos. Despite being made from coconut palm sap, coconut aminos doesn’t actually taste like coconut and instead has a less-rich, “milder, sweeter flavor” than soy sauce (via Healthline). Coconut aminos also contain less than one-third the sodium of soy sauce (via Women’s Health). Heart-healthy and still full of umami goodness? Score!